Dear Anonymous, You Are Not My Enemy

istockphoto: Angry-at-computer-630x420

Dear Anonymous,

You are not my enemy. You support beliefs that I disagree with. I abhor them, in fact, because I see the great harm that comes from them. You think the same thing about my ideas. Our ways of life are different in important ways. You and I are part of groups that are at odds. But you are not my enemy.

You may be anonymous to me now, but you are a human being. You have a name, if I care to learn it. You have a family. You have a story. You have suffered in significant ways, as have I, as have we all. You came by your beliefs honestly, just as I came by mine honestly.

We can argue with each other all we like, but let us not despise each other! We hate each other only because we fear. We fear much! All the nameless evils that threaten to harm us and the ones that we love. But you are not that evil. You have a name, even if I do not know it. I am not that evil either. In fact, because we are both human, have both known pain and loss and joy, we are family. We are brother and sister. We are neighbors.

“The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies; probably because they are generally the same people.”– G K Chesterton

I cannot hate you or love you, cannot forgive or be forgiven, until I remember this about you, that you have a name. And here is mine:

Your sister,
Mary

This entry was posted in Commentary, Divine Love/ Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Anonymous, You Are Not My Enemy

  1. orthodoxpk says:

    This is so beautiful. I applaud you for having the courage to write a post like this. Hopefully it will motivate others to have the same mindset.

  2. jrj1701 says:

    Very interesting post, a good reminder that we are not to use the weapons of the true enemy in our spiritual warfare.

Leave a Reply

